10
Nov
11

Tablet Acer Iconia Tab W500 – Arch Linux setup e first configuration

As I already mentioned on previous posts, is the Arch Linux distribution at this time I think that suits my needs, following the purchase of hybrid Tablet Acer Iconia Tab W500 I immediately set a target to install Linux so I did.

To be honest there was a fact that made ​​me act on impulse and install Linux entirely removing what was installed (Windows 7 with Acer additional software).

A few days after the purchase I turned on the tablet with the intention of freeing up disk space and reduce the existing partition to provide room for the new operating system.

Upon restart I waited 10 minutes for the installation of an update, one of 34 that would have done if I had not switched off brutally with the intent to delete Windows. If I had not reacted so violently against the system owner from operations pre-installed, the avri held until such time as the configuration would allow me to use the convenient tablet, so maybe a few months, so I narrowed the time.

Taken the decision I started the install from the USB stick with ArchLinux, I followed the instructions in the wiki site www.archlinux.org, I know this is a Beginner’s Guide, after some installations there should feel more beginner, but is a good checklist.

The first experiences with the touch screen with Linux are not exciting, at least until you don’t customize your environment

As Desktop Manager I choose LXDM, light and functional enough, if you want you can disable any topic and get a sober and without conflict with the virtual keyboard xvkbd I turned in the script at / etc / lxdm / LoginReady.

Also in the script PostLogout I added the activation of the virtual keyboard, while in PreLogin I added the closing to make way for a while Florence most elegant and functional active with the script ~/.config/lxsession/LXDE/Autostart having chosen LXDE as desktop environment.

Florence is available in the AUR, the Arch users know for sure, for others it is the Arch User Repository, contains everything that is not covered in the official Arch but with a few simple commands you can make it installable with pacman.

For now it sufficient, in the next post will address other necessary customizations to use the excellent tablet.


3 Responses to “Tablet Acer Iconia Tab W500 – Arch Linux setup e first configuration”


  1. 1 erget
    February 8, 2012 at 20:02

    Very cool! Was installing Linux just like installing it on a normal, desktop PC, or did you have to do some extra stuff to e.g. unlock the bootloader?

  2. 2 erget
    February 8, 2012 at 20:03

    Oops, I forgot to have follow-up comments set by email, this is just so that I’ll see the answer 🙂

    • February 9, 2012 at 10:52

      Hi erget,
      the one unlock is the BIOS Boot device choice to boot from USB,
      in order to show the boot device menu you have to press and hold Win key on keyboard switching on
      the tablet.


Leave a comment


Top Clicks

  • None